Info

Fior (Old High German, “Four”) is a new quartet from Southern Germany dedicated to modern folk music. Fior creates music for the dance floor as well as concert halls, they make people dance and dream.

So far the four musicians of Fior intensely worked on and played folk music from other countries (especially Sweden, France and Ireland), but now they developed an urgent desire to find out more about the melodies and songs of their home country Germany and to breathe new life into them. They’ve come across a true treasure of music, which should no longer sleep quietly! Medieval ballads and folk songs meet arrangements of poems by writers such as Fontane and Eichendorff, groovy jigs alternate with gentle waltzes and traditional tunes from rediscovered German music manuscripts are interwoven with the band’s own compositions.

The unique instrumentation guarantees an inimitable and lively concert experience. The mellow vocals, the Celtic colors of the DADGAD-guitar, concertina and tin whistle, the Nordic sound of the Swedish nyckelharpa and säckpipa, as well as the intense drone sound of the hurdy gurdy offer a rarely heard sound cosmos and take the audience on a lyrical journey full of groove.

Fior are Regina Kunkel (nyckelharpa), Rick Krüger (vocals, bagpipes, whistles, clarinet, concertina), Sebastian Elsner (hurdy gurdy) and Björn Kaidel (guitar, nyckelharpa). After Regina, Rick and Björn were already active for several years in the German folk scene with their instrumental folk duos Akleja and Airu, they got the idea to found a new band focused on songs and lyrics. With the hurdy gurdy player Sebastian Elsner they found the perfect match for this project. In secret they developed a new concert program which they’re now unleashing.

All four musicians are among the leading players of their instruments in Germany, have extensive stage experience and are in addition to their work as musicians also in demand as instructors at courses and workshops in Germany and abroad.

Musicians

Regina Kunkel Portraitphoto

Regina Kunkel enriches the sound of Fior with her unique and groovy way of playing the nyckelharpa. After she autodidactically learned how to play different whistles and flutes originating from all over Europe, she later dedicated herself completely to the Swedish nyckelharpa. She has played concerts throughout Europe with Akleja and is one of Germany’s leading nyckelharpa players. Her way of playing is strongly influenced by private lessons she received from Josefina Paulson.

Rick Krüger Portraitphoto

Rick Krüger is a multi instrumentalist, sings and plays bagpipes, concertina, clarinet and whistles for Fior. He is known across the borders of Germany for his virtuoso bagpipe playing and is also one of the most active folk composers in Germany. He played solo, with the bal folk duo Airu and the medieval comedy duo Mumpitz all over Germany, has released several CDs and now works on the new project Fior. In recent years, he received lessons from bagpipe virtuosos such as Callum Armstrong, Matthias “Mattis” Branschke, Christoph Pelgen and Vincent Boniface.

Sebastian Elsner Portraitphoto

Sebastian Elsner is the band’s newcomer. After unsuccessful compulsory recorder lessons in school, he devoted himself to film and has since then contributed visual effects to many Hollywood movies. Only a few years ago, he discovered the hurdy gurdy and decided to face the “old-new” challenge of playing music once again. It only took him a short time to learn the instrument and he is now one of Germany’s top hurdy gurdy players. He took lessons with the big names of the hurdy gurdy scene, like Matthias Loibner, Gergory Jolivet and Johannes Hellman. He is already working as an instructor for hurdy gurdy and now enters the musical stage with Fior.

Björn Kaidel Portraitphoto

Björn Kaidel, the second multi instrumentalist of the band, plays guitar (DADGAD tuning) and nyckelharpa for Fior. With his unique melodic-rhythmic guitar style and his special intuition for accompaniment, he provides the harmonic ground on which the arrangements of Fior can unfold. In addition to his projects Akleja and Airu , he is a sought-after instructor for ensemble and nyckelharpa workshops and has, amongst others, taught at the International Days of the Nyckelharpa at Burg Fürsteneck, for the German Bordun e.V. and the Dutch Stichting Draailier en Doedelzak.

Info

Mit Fior (althochdeutsch, “Vier”) betritt ein neues Quartett aus Süddeutschland die Bühne, welches sich dem modernen Folk verschrieben hat. Fior macht Musik für den Tanzboden und Konzertsäle, bringt die Leute zum tanzen und träumen.

Nachdem die vier Musiker/innen von Fior sich intensiv mit Folk anderer Länder (besonders Schweden, Frankreich und Irland) beschäftigt haben, entstand der dringende Wunsch den Melodien und Texten aus dem eigenen Land auf die Spur zu gehen und ihnen frischen Wind einzuhauchen. Dabei sind sie auf einen wahren Schatz an Musik gestoßen, der nicht länger still schlummern soll! Mittelalterliche Balladen und Volkslieder treffen auf eigene Vertonungen von Gedichten von Fontane und Eichendorff, fetzige Jigs wechseln sich mit einfühlsamen Walzern ab, traditionelle Stücke aus wiederentdeckten deutschen Notenhandschriften werden mit eigenen Kompositionen verwoben.

Die besondere Besetzung und Instrumentierung sorgt für ein einzigartiges und lebendiges Konzerterlebnis. Der einfühlsame Gesang, der keltische Sound der DADGAD-Gitarre, Concertina und Tin Whistle, der nordische Klang der schwedischen Nyckelharpa und Säckpipa, sowie der intensive Bordunklang der Drehleier entführen die Zuhörer mal lyrisch, mal voller Groove und Extase in einen mitreisenden und selten gehörten Klangkosmos.

Fior - das sind Regina Kunkel (Nyckelharpa), Rick Krüger (Gesang, Dudelsäcke, Flöten, Concertina, Klarinette), Sebastian Elsner (Drehleier) und Björn Kaidel (Gitarre, Nyckelharpa). Nachdem Regina, Rick und Björn bereits mit ihren instrumentalen Duo-Projekten Akleja und Airu für Aufsehen gesorgt haben, entstand die Idee eine Band zu gründen, die sich auch Liedern und Texten widmet. Mit dem Drehleierspieler Sebastian Elsner haben sie dabei die perfekte Ergänzung gefunden. Im stillen Kämmerlein haben sie ein neues Konzertprogramm geschmiedet, welches sie nun auf die Welt loslassen.

Alle vier Musiker/innen gehören in Deutschland zu den führenden Vertretern ihrer Instrumente, können auf langjährige Bühnenerfahrung zurückblicken und sind neben ihrer Musikertätigkeit auch gefragte Dozenten bei Kursen und Workshops im In- und Ausland.

Besetzung

Regina Kunkel Portraitphoto

Regina Kunkel bereichert den Klang von Fior mit ihrem einzigartigen und groovigem Nyckelharpaspiel. Nachdem sie zunächst autodidaktisch das Spiel verschiedener Flöten aus ganz Europa erlernte, verfiel sie später völlig dem schwedischen Streichinstrument Nyckelharpa. Sie hat mit ihrem Duo Akleja europaweit Auftritte gespielt und zählt zu Deutschlands führenden Nyckelharpa-Spielerinnen. Ihr Spiel ist geprägt durch den langjährigen Privatunterricht von Josefina Paulson.

Rick Krüger Portraitphoto

Rick Krüger ist bei Fior als Multiinstrumentalist für den Gesang, Dudelsäcke, Concertina, Klarinette und Flöten zuständig. Er ist über die Grenzen Deutschlands für sein virtuoses Dudelsack-Spiel bekannt und außerdem einer der eifrigsten Folk-Komponisten Deutschlands. Nachdem er solo, mit dem Bal-Folk Duo Airu und dem Mittelalterduo Mumpitz in ganz Deutschland unterwegs war und mehrere CDs veröffentlichte, widmet er sich nun dem neuen Projekt Fior. In den letzten Jahren erhielt er Unterricht von den Dudelsackvirtuosen Callum Armstrong, Matthias “Mattis” Branschke, Christoph Pelgen und Vincent Boniface.

Sebastian Elsner Portraitphoto

Sebastian Elsner ist der Newcomer der Band. Nachdem der schulische Blockflötenzwangsunterricht nicht fruchtete, verschrieb er sich dem Film und hat seitdem bei so manchen Hollywood Produktionen visuelle Effekte beigetragen. Erst vor wenigen Jahren entdeckte er die Drehleier für sich und stellte sich damit der alten-neuen Herausforderung “Musik”. In kürzester Zeit erlernte er das Instrument und hat sich an die Spitze der deutschen Bordunszene gespielt. So nahm er Unterricht bei den großen, bekannten Namen der internationalen Szene wie Matthias Loibner, Gregory Jolivet und Johannes Geworkian Hellman. Bereits jetzt ist er als Drehleierdozent tätig und betritt nun mit Fior die (Musik-)Bühne.

Björn Kaidel Portraitphoto

Björn Kaidel, der zweite Multiinstrumentalist der Band, spielt für Fior Gitarre (DADGAD-Stimmung) und Nyckelharpa. Durch seinen einzigartigen melodiös-rhythmischen Gitarrenstil und sein besonderes Gespür für Begleitungen bildet er den harmonischen Unterbau, auf dem sich die Arrangements von Fior entfalten können. Neben seinen Projekten Akleja und Airu ist er außerdem gefragt als Dozent für Ensemble- und Nyckelharpakurse und unterrichtete u.a. bei den internationalen Nyckelharpatagen auf Burg Fürsteneck, für den Bordun e.V. und der niederländischen Stichting Draailier en Doedelzak.